A SUMMER LOVE

63 min, Documentary, Quebec, Canada, 2015
Directed byJean-François Lesage
Produced byJean-François Lesage
LanguageFrench/English
Short description

A portrait of lovers at night, in the summer of the Mont-Royal park in Montreal.


Buy the DVD

Press reviews

The digital generation obviously has a lot to think and talk about concerning relationships and romantic dramas. The neon lights show them the way through a nocturnal nature, into the uncertain future of adulthood. Watching this is a sensuous experience. Zaza Rusadze, Dok Leipzig 2015

Film details

Synopsis
It’s summer in Montreal and everyone is in love… except you. Late at night, on top of the mountain that overlooks the city, couples lay in the grass and linger in after-hours picnics, bodies move in closer, expressions transform. You roam from gatherings to budding couples, never quite able to savour this fever, or hold it in your arms. You want to feel their wonderment, yet it slips through your fingers. You are merely a bystander, a simple voyeur. You are not invited to the party.

 

Credits
Screenplay and direction : Jean-François Lesage
Image : Jean-François Lesage et Marianne Ploska
Sound recording : Aude Renaud-Lorrain

Sound editing: Alexis Pilon-Gladu
Editing : Mathieu Bouchard-Malo et Ariane Pétel-Despots
Music : GOLD ZEBRA

Poems: Jonathan Lamy
Production : Jean-François Lesage

 

Financial partners

PRIM
Conseil des Arts et des lettres du Québec

Director

Jean-François Lesage

After studying law, Jean-François Lesage began his career as a journalist for Radio-Canada television in Alberta and British Columbia. In 1998, blown away by a close-up of Gong Li in the film Red Sorghum, he headed to Beijing, where he was to spend six years. Inspired by the energy and courage of Chinese indie filmmakers like Wang Bing, Zhao Liang and Yang Lina, he made his first creative documentary, Sweet Nights Sour Nights (2004). He followed this up with How Can You Tell if the Little Fish are Happy? (2009), the tale of a summer in the suburbs of Beijing, co-directed with his brother Philippe Lesage. Back in Montréal, he then made A Mile End Tale (2013), the closing film at Visions du Réel, followed by A Summer Love (2015), winner of the Grand Prize for Best Canadian Feature at the RIDM. The Hidden River (2017), his fourth feature, took the special jury prize (Canadian feature) at last year’s RIDM and took part in the Burning Lights Competition at this year’s Visions du Réel. Lesage is currently at work on a new documentary, a winter’s tale of sorts entitled Prayer for a Lost Mitten.

 

Filmographie

 

The Hidden River (2017 / 75 min)

A Summer Love (2015 / 63 min)
A Mile End Tale (2013 / 68 min)
How can you tell if the little fish are happy? (2009 / 100 min)
Sweet Nights Sour Nights (2004 / 52 min)

Awards

Rencontres internationales du documentaire (RIDM)
Grand prix de la compétition nationale longs métrages Montréal

UN AMOUR D’ÉTÉ

63 min, Documentaire, Québec, Canada, 2015
RéalisationJean-François Lesage
ProductionJean-François Lesage
Langagefrançais/anglais
Description courte

Des jeunes, la nuit, après l'heure de fermeture du parc du Mont-Royal, à Montréal.


Acheter le DVD

Critiques de presse

Un amour d’été échappe aux conventions documentaires par son approche minimaliste et son apparente légèreté d’être. Toutefois, au-delà des chuchotements et des volutes bleutées de ces moments complices, se cache un film à l’écoute de l’autre et de sa différence. Charles-Henri Ramond, Séquences

Détails du film

Synopsis
À Montréal, l’été, tout le monde est amoureux (sauf toi). Sur la montagne, après la fermeture du parc, les couples s’étendent dans l’herbe et, dans les pique-niques tardifs, les corps se rapprochent, les regards changent. Tu passes d’un groupe à l’autre, d’un couple naissant à un autre, sans jamais parvenir à goûter à cette fébrilité, sans jamais l’étreindre. Alors que tu cherches à partager cet émerveillement, il te glisse entre les doigts, te condamnant à demeurer témoin, presque jaloux, simple voyeur. Tu n’es pas invité à la fête.

 

Équipe
Scénario et réalisation : Jean-François Lesage
Direction photo : Jean-François Lesage et Marianne Ploska
Prise de son : Aude Renaud-Lorrain

Montage sonore: Alexis Pilon-Gladu
Montage : Mathieu Bouchard-Malo et Ariane Pétel-Despots
Musique : GOLD ZEBRA

Poèmes: Jonathan Lamy
Production : Jean-François Lesage

 

Partenaires financiers

 

PRIM
Conseil des Arts et des lettres du Québec

Réalisateur

Jean-François Lesage

Après des études de droit, Jean-François Lesage fait ses débuts comme journaliste pour la télévision de Radio-Canada en Alberta et en Colombie-Britannique. En 1998, bouleversé par un gros plan de Gong Li dans le film Sorgho rouge, il s’envole pour Pékin. Il y vivra six ans au contact de cinéastes chinois indépendants tels Wang Bing, Zhao Liang et Yang Lina. Inspiré par leur énergie et leur courage, il réalise son premier documentaire de création, Une nuit en Chine (2004), puis avec son frère Philippe Lesage, Comment savoir si les petits poissons sont heureux ? (2009),  chronique de l’été d’une bande de jeunes de Pékin. De retour à Montréal, il réalise Conte du Mile End (2013), film de clôture de Visions du Réel, puis Un amour d’été (2015), Grand prix de la compétition nationale longs métrages des RIDM. La rivière cachée (2017) est son quatrième long métrage. Le film a remporté Le prix spécial du jury de la compétition nationale longs métrages des RIDM et a fait partie de la Compétition Burning Lights à Visions du Réel cette année. Le cinéaste prépare un nouveau long métrage documentaire qui sera cette fois une sorte de conte d’hiver : Prière pour une mitaine perdue.

 

Filmographie

 

La rivière cachée (2017 / 75min)

Un amour d’été (2015 / 63 min)
Conte du Mile End (2013 / 68 min)
Comment savoir si les petits poissons sont heureux? (2009 / 100 min)
Une nuit en Chine (2004 / 52 min)

 

Prix et mentions

Rencontres internationales du documentaire (RIDM)
Grand prix de la compétition nationale longs métrages Montréal