FAR AWAY LANDS

98 min, Documentary, Quebec, Canada, 2017
Directed byLamarche, Félix
Produced byFélix Lamarche
LanguageEnglish, Dutch, Tagalog, Cebuano
Short description

On a cargo ship, a crew of eight drift on the seas, from port to port, longing for home and searching for freedom.


Buy the DVD

Press reviews

The montage is stunning, and the formal intonation of the film’s undercurrent even more so. Even once they are safely ashore, with their feet planted firmly on the ground, these sailors’ lives are aquatic, bound to the motion and cadence of the sea. CutPrintFilm

Film details

Synopsis

Far Away lands is a voyage to the heart of the blue desert, a journey where the vast and the intimate stands along. On a cargo ship, a crew of eight, mostly young Dutch and Filipinos, forms an improbable community, tossed by the constant motion of goods and torn between a search for freedom and the nostalgia of exile. Rarely have we taken a closer look at those modern-day sailors, often eclipsed by the overwhelming presence of both the machines and the sea. Set between everyday life and fleeting reveries, this film will lead us on the wandering path, through the existence and experience of these men, striding across the limits of our world. Seeing the lands in the far distance, like a sailor’s vaporous dream, the desire for adventure slowly flirts with melancholy.

 

Credits

Screenplay and direction : Félix Lamarche
Image : Samuel de Chavigny

Editing : Sophie B. Sylvestre

Sound conception: Sylvain Bellemare

Music : Mimi Allard, Jérôme Boivin, Félix Lamarche

Sound recording : Félix Lamarche

Producer : Félix Lamarche

 

Financial partners

SODEC

Conseil des arts et des lettres du Québec

PRIM

Director

Lamarche, Félix

Félix Lamarche is an independent filmmaker and producer. He directed his first short films during his teenage years and after spending some time travelling, he completed a bachelor degree in filmmaking. At university, he discovered documentary cinema, where he chose to set his practice. Mostly interested by the narrative possibilities and the creative freedom of the documentary form, he seeks to create through his films an open space for encounters and reflections, where the human being is at the center and seen in relation with his environment. Far Away Lands (2017) is his first feature length documentary.

 

 

Filmography

 

Far Away Lands (2017 / 98 min)

Screenings archive

Cinema Beaubien
Wednesday 09 August, 2017 Montreal

LES TERRES LOINTAINES

98 min, Documentaire, Québec, Canada, 2017
RéalisationLamarche, Félix
ProductionFélix Lamarche
LangageAnglais, Néerlandais, Tagalog, Cebuano
Description courte

Sur un navire cargo, huit hommes errent sur la mer, de port en port, oscillant entre la recherche de liberté et la nostalgie de l'exil.


Acheter le DVD

Critiques de presse

Il a l’oeil, le jeune Félix Lamarche. Devant sa caméra, les clés anglaises dansent des ballets, les îles lointaines tanguent et le soleil lance des cuillerées de miel blond dans les hublots. Le Devoir

Détails du film

Synopsis

Les Terres lointaines est un voyage au cœur du désert bleu, une plongée dans les territoires de l’immense et de l’intime. Sur un cargo couleur turquoise, huit hommes, Hollandais et Philippins, jeunes pour la plupart, forment une improbable communauté, ballottée par le mouvement incessant des marchandises, prise entre la recherche d’espaces de liberté et la nostalgie de l’exil. Ainsi, pour une rare fois s’intéressera-t-on à ces marins d’aujourd’hui, protagonistes souvent éclipsés par l’imposante présence de la mer et de la machine. Au rythme des vagues, ce film, oscillant entre réalité quotidienne et rêveries éphémères, nous mène sur les chemins de l’errance, à travers le vécu et les confidences de ces hommes arpentant les limites de notre monde. À la vue des terres lointaines, visions fugitives du marin, la mélancolie se mélange doucement au désir d’aventure.

 

Équipe

Scénario et réalisation : Félix Lamarche
Direction photo : Samuel de Chavigny

Montage : Sophie B. Sylvestre

Conception sonore: Sylvain Bellemare

Musique : Mimi Allard, Jérôme Boivin, Félix Lamarche

Prise de son : Félix Lamarche

Producteur : Félix Lamarche

 

Partenaires financiers

SODEC

Conseil des arts et des lettres du Québec

PRIM

Réalisation

Lamarche, Félix

Réalisateur

Félix Lamarche est un cinéaste et producteur indépendant. Ayant réalisé ses premiers courts métrages à l’adolescence, il s’intéresse d’abord au cinéma de genre et à la fiction. Après quelques voyages, il entre à l’université et y découvre le cinéma documentaire, territoire où il œuvre présentement. Intéressé surtout par les possibilités narratives et la liberté créatrice qu’offre le cinéma du réel, il cherche à travers ses films à créer des espaces de rencontre et de réflexion où l’être humain y occupe une place centrale et est mis en relation avec son environnement. Les Terres lointaines (2017) est son premier long métrage documentaire.

 

Filmographie

 

Les Terres lointaines (2017 / 98 min)

Archive des projections

Cinema Beaubien
mercredi 09 août, 2017 Montreal