RESURRECTING HASSAN

100 min, Documentary, Quebec, Canada, 2016
Directed byGuillermo Proto, Carlo
Produced byCarlo Guillermo Proto
Languagefrench/english/russian
Short description

Resurrecting Hassan is an exploration of a blind family of three's legacy of grief, tragedy and abuse as we follow them on their path to self-redemption.


Buy the DVD

Press reviews

(Carlo Guillermo) Proto gets intimate access to his subjects and paints a picture of a family desperately trying to cling to a sense of normalcy and togetherness in the wake of a tragedy. Toronto Film Scene The movie gets sometimes unbearably close to the Hartings, passionate, compelling characters who make eerily beautiful music. It's also one of the saddest films I've seen in a long time. NOW Magazine Resurrecting Hassan merges the disparate worlds of Denis, Peggy and Lauviah, from their profound grief to their New Age pursuit of miracles, their stunning musicality and incredible perseverance in the face of seemingly insurmountable adversity. Montreal Gazette

Film details

Synopsis
Resurrecting Hassan traces the lives of the Hartings, a blind Montreal family of three who make their living singing in the city’s subway stations. The Hartings lost their only sighted child Hassan in a tragic drowning accident, and have since turned to the teachings of Russian mystic Grigori Grabovoi, hoping to resurrect their son.

 

Credits
Screenplay and direction : Carlo Guillermo Proto
Image : Carlo Guillermo Proto

Sound conception: Carlo Guillermo Proto, Cory Rizos et Pablo Villegas
Editing : Carlo Guillermo Proto et Lorenzo Salazar
Music : Olivier Alary
Production : Carlo Guillermo Proto (The Handshake Productions)

 

Financial partners

SODEC

Conseils des Arts et des lettres du Québec

Conseils des Arts du Canada

TeleFilm Canada

 

Director

Guillermo Proto, Carlo

Raised in Quillota, Chile and Mississauga, Ontario, Carlo Guillermo Proto made his home in Montreal, Quebec. His work focuses on the unique interplay between identity and human experience in relationship to issues of geography, ethnicity and perceived disabilities. His first feature film is the documentary El Huaso (2012) which premiered at the Hot Docs the same year and then toured in more than 25 international film festivals. In 2017 his second documentary, Resurrecting Hassan, was released in theater, and was, once again, very well received by critics and toured the film festivals in the world.

 

Filmography

 

Resurrecting Hassan (2017 / 100 min)

El Huaso (2012 / 80 min)

Awards

RIDM 2016
Grand prix de la compétition nationale - longs métrages Montréal

LA RÉSURRECTION D’HASSAN

100 min, documentaire, Québec, Canada, 2016
RéalisationGuillermo Proto, Carlo
ProductionCarlo Guillermo Proto
Langagefrançais/anglais/russe
Description courte

D’une poésie ardente et crue, La Résurrection d'Hassan suit le parcours d’une famille d’aveugles tentant d’accéder à la grâce par-delà les souffrances de leur destin brisé.


Acheter le DVD

Critiques de presse

Ce documentaire n'a rien d'un freak show. Il s'agit d'une ode à la différence et au respect, filmé avec beaucoup d'humanisme. Un vrai documentaire aussi, pas un reportage long sans véritable perspective. Et une fin ouverte déstabilisante. Le Soleil Ce film singulier, troublant, est à voir sans faute. Revue24images Un portrait familial doublé d’une intense quête de sens. Le Devoir

Détails du film

Synopsis
Dans le métro montréalais, trois aveugles entonnent de douces mélodies. Denis, Peggy et leur fille Lauviah, sont hantés par la mort tragique du second enfant de la famille et cherchent douloureusement la lumière : dans leur musique aux accents célestes, dans leur soutien mutuel qui cède parfois à la violence ou encore dans l’enseignement mystique de Grabovoy, un guérisseur russe professant la régénération des organes et la résurrection des morts. Les rêves l’ont annoncé : Hassan, le fils si pur, l’ange parti trop tôt, reviendra bientôt à leurs côtés, et ils connaîtront enfin le bonheur.

 

Équipe
Scénario et réalisation : Carlo Guillermo Proto
Image : Carlo Guillermo Proto

Conception sonore: Carlo Guillermo Proto, Cory Rizos et Pablo Villegas
Montage : Carlo Guillermo Proto et Lorenzo Salazar
Musique : Olivier Alary
Production : Carlo Guillermo Proto (The Handshake Productions)

 

Partenaires financiers

SODEC

Conseils des Arts et des lettres du Québec

Conseils des Arts du Canada

 

Réalisation

Guillermo Proto, Carlo

Réalisateur

Élevé à Quillota au Chili et à Mississauga en Ontario, Carlo Guillermo Proto est un cinéaste québécois d’origine chilienne dont le travail se concentre sur l’interaction unique entre l’identité et l’expérience humaine en relation avec les questions de la géographie, l’appartenance ethnique et la perception des handicaps. Son premier long métrage, El Huaso (2012), a été présenté en Première mondiale à Hot Docs en 2012, puis dans plus de 25 festivals internationaux. Il a conquis le Festival de cinéma de la ville de Québec (FCVQ) en remportant deux prix importants, soit le Prix du public du film canadien/québécois et le Prix du Meilleur premier film. El Huaso a été diffusé sur les ondes de CBC et de la Télévision Franco-Ontarienne (TFO). En 2017 sort en salle La Résurrection d’Hassan, son deuxième long métrage documentaire.

 

Filmographie

 

La Résurrection d’Hassan (2017 / 100 min)

El Huaso (2012 / 80 min)

Archive des projections

Carrefour Culturel de Notre-Dame-des-Prairies
jeudi 18 janvier, 2018 Québéc

Prix et mentions

RIDM 2016
Grand prix de la compétition nationale - longs métrages Montréal