GO IN THE WILDERNESS

61 min, Fiction, Quebec, Canada, 2013
Directed byKephart, Elza
Produced byElza Kephart, Patricia Gomez Zlatar
LanguageEnglish/French
Short description

The tale of history’s first rebels.


Buy the DVD

Press reviews

(…) Kephart once again shows how unique she is among contemporary young Quebec filmmakers with her telling of the original act of female emancipation. Her visually extravagant take on the Lilith story provokes and destabilizes through its narrative choices, its understated style, and the constant edge of absurdist humour it brings to the ancient story. The story of the world’s first rebel told in the manner of a Bergman-esque road movie. Julien Fonfrède, Programmer, Festival du nouveau cinéma

Film details

Synopsis
Go in the wilderness tells the story of Lilith, Adam’s rebellious first mate, and Sammael, her guardian angel, as they forge an uneasy alliance on their journey back to Eden. Once in the Garden, they meet Adam and his new mate Eve, and realise that all is not as it seems in Paradise… Shot against the striking backdrop of Quebec’s remote North Coast, Go in the wilderness presents a bold new version of the myth of creation.

 

Credits

Script and Director : Elza Kephart

Director of Photography : Glauco Bermudez

Editing : Mirenda Ouellet

Sound Design : Martin Pinsonnault

Music : Robert Marcel Lepage

Sound : Simon Olivier Richer et Dominic Heinzmann

Sound Mixing : Louis Gignac

Producers : Elza Kephart, Patricia Gomez Zlatar

 

With : Stephanie Chapman Baker, Kevin Jake Walker, Julie Johnson, Devin Estes

Director

Kephart, Elza

A graduate of Emerson College and the Canadian Film Center’s Director’s Lab, Elza directed her first feature film at 24. Graveward alike : a zombie nurse in love (2003) was screened in over 20 international film festivals, garnering the Kodak Cinematography Award at the Slamdance Film Festival in 2004. It was distributed on television, DVD, and in theaters. Her second feature, Go in the wilderness (2013), retells the legend of Lilith, Adam’s rebellious first love interest. It premiered at the Festival du Nouveau Cinema in 2013. Elza has attended the Telluride Student Symposium, The TIFF Talent Lab, and the Berlinale Talent Campus. She has received numerous development grants from Telefilm, SODEC and CALQ. To make a living she works on Hollywood movies.

 

Filmography

 

Go in the Wilderness (2013 / 61 min)

Beyond the Pearly Gates of Ill-Repute (2006 / 9 min)

Graveyard Alive – A Zombie Nurse in Love (2003 / 82 min)

Naughty Soxxx – Sock it to me! (2002 / 10 min)

The Book of Joan  (1998 / 25 min)

GO IN THE WILDERNESS

61 min, fiction, Québec, Canada, 2013
RéalisationKephart, Elza
ProductionElza Kephart, Patricia Gomez Zlatar
Langageanglais/français
Description courte

Le récit des deux premiers rebelles de l’histoire.


Acheter le DVD

Critiques de presse

Une réinterprétation ambitieuse (impressionnante sur le plan formel) tapissée de Girl Power mythologique, qui voit une héroïne avant-gardiste traverser bon nombre d’épreuves au cours d’une quête existentielle pour faire sa place dans le Jardin d’Éden. Nightlife

Détails du film

Synopsis
Go in the wilderness relate l’histoire de Lilith, première femme rebelle d’Adam, et de Sammael, son ange gardien, alors qu’ils forment une alliance boiteuse pendant leur voyage de retour vers le jardin de l’Éden. Une fois arrivés dans le Jardin, ils rencontrent Adam et Ève, sa nouvelle compagne, et ils se rendent compte que les apparences sont trompeuses au Paradis…Tourné avec en toile de fond le paysage saisissant de la Côte nord du Québec, Go in the wilderness représente une version neuve et audacieuse du mythe de la création.

 

Équipe

Scénarisation et réalisation : Elza Kephart

Direction photo : Glauco Bermudez

Montage : Mirenda Ouellet

Conception sonore : Martin Pinsonnault

Musique : Robert Marcel Lepage

Son : Simon Olivier Richer et Dominic Heinzmann

Mixage sonore : Louis Gignac

Production : Elza Kephart, Patricia Gomez Zlatar

 

Avec : Stephanie Chapman Baker, Kevin Jake Walker, Julie Johnson, Devin Estes

 

Réalisateur

Kephart, Elza

Diplômée d’Emerson College et du Canadian Film Center’s Director’s Lab, Elza réalise son premier film à 24 ans. Graveward alike : a zombie nurse in love (2003) a été projeté dans plus de vingt festivals de film à travers le monde et a gagné le prix Kodak pour la meilleure cinématographie au festival de Slamdance en 2004. Le film a été distribué à la télévision, en DVD et en salles. Son second film, Go in the wilderness (2013), réinterprète la légende de Lilith, première compagne rebelle d’Adam. Il est sorti en première mondiale au Festival du Nouveau Cinéma en 2013. Elza a participé au Telluride Student Symposium, au TIFF Talent Lab, et au Berlinale Talent Campus. Téléfilm Canada, la SODEC et le CALQ lui ont octroyé de nombreuses subventions de développement. Elle travaille sur des films Hollywoodien pour gagner sa vie.

 

Filmographie

 

Go in the Wilderness (2013 / 61 min)

Beyond the Pearly Gates of Ill-Repute (2006 / 9 min)

Graveyard Alive – A Zombie Nurse in Love (2003 / 82 min)

Naughty Soxxx – Sock it to me! (2002 / 10 min)

The Book of Joan  (1998 / 25 min)