BGL FANCY

83 min, Documentary, Quebec, Canada, 2017
Directed byHogue, Benjamin
Produced byBenjamin Hogue
LanguageFrench
Short description

A documentary portrait on contemporary art trio, BGL.


Buy the DVD

Press reviews

(BGL Fancy) is a documentary which showcases the latest art work of the Québécois trio. Focused on their last three large scale projects, this film is the perfect excuse for those who wanted to know more about them. Montreal Rampage

Film details

Synopsis

After a twenty-year-long career, the contemporary art group BGL (Jasmin Bilodeau, Sébastien Giguère and Nicolas Laverdière) was offered the mission to oversee three important projects. The task is a colossal challenge: create two monumental public art pieces – one in Montréal and the other in Toronto – and represent Canada during the 56th Biennale in Venice. What better moment than to shine the spotlight on this immensely creative trio, thereby allowing us to take a retrospective look on their prolific and disconcerting legacy? In this fairy tale like documentary, humour, extravagance, oneirism and camaraderie become deeply entangled.

 

 

Credits

Screenplay and direction : Benjamin Hogue

Image : Benjamin Hogue et Alexandre Berthier

Editing : René Roberge

Sound conception: Patrice LeBlanc

Music : Simon Bélair

Sound recording : Benjamin Hogue

Sound mix : Jean Paul Vialard

Producer : Benjamin Hogue (La Soute)

 

Financial partners

SODEC

Conseil des arts du Canada

Conseil des arts et lettres du Québec

ONF – Aide au cinéma indépendant

Director

Hogue, Benjamin

Active in documentary filmmaking for the past fifteen years, Benjamin Hogue is particularly fascinated by creators who, each in their own way, manage to unhinge art forms and build bridges between art and society. Some of his co-productions include: Lemoyne (2005), a look at the life and works of Quebec painter and performance artist Serge Lemoyne and Death Laid Off (2009), a portrait of Québec poet, Claude Péloquin. He also produced the documentary feature Godin (2011).  Fancy BGL (2017) is a feature film documentary about the contemporary art trio, BGL, and is also his first solo production. Benjamin Hogue is director of the Observatoire du documentaire.

 

Filmography

 

BGL fancy (2017 / 83 min)
Death Laid Off (2009 / 68 min)
Lemoyne (2005 / 80 min)

Screenings archive

Maison de la culture Claude-Léveillée
Thursday 04 April, 2019 MONTREAL
Maison de la culture de Notre-Dame-de-Grâce
Wednesday 01 May, 2019 MONTREAL

BGL DE FANTAISIE

83 min, documentaire, Québec, Canada, 2017
RéalisationHogue, Benjamin
ProductionBenjamin Hogue
Langagefrançais
Description courte

Portrait documentaire du trio en art contemporain BGL.


Acheter le DVD

Critiques de presse

Le film présente plein de trouvailles visuelles et mise sur un montage efficace. La caméra capte des moments de grâce. La Presse BGL de fantaisie est bien plus qu’un film sur le work-in-progress. C’est une véritable rétrospective que Hogue signe, grâce aux documents d’archives qu’il insère ici et là, au travers de ses propres séquences. Le Devoir Le film permet d’en apprendre plus sur la vision artistique de ces créateurs hors normes et sur leur préoccupation sociales. Québec Cinéma

Détails du film

Synopsis

Après vingt ans de carrière, le collectif en art contemporain BGL (Jasmin Bilodeau, Sébastien Giguère et Nicolas Laverdière) se voit confier la réalisation de trois projets d’envergure. Le défi est de taille : produire deux œuvres d’art public monumentales – une à Montréal et l’autre à Toronto – et représenter le Canada à la 56e Biennale de Venise. Le moment ne pouvait être mieux choisi pour braquer la caméra sur le trio fantaisiste et jeter du même coup un regard rétrospectif sur une œuvre prolifique et déroutante. Un documentaire aux allures de conte, où s’entremêlent humour, extravagance, onirisme et camaraderie.

 

Équipe

Scénario et réalisation : Benjamin Hogue
Direction photo : Benjamin Hogue et Alexandre Berthier

Monteur : René Roberge

Conception sonore: Patrice LeBlanc

Musique : Simon Bélair

Prise de son : Benjamin Hogue

Mixage sonore : Jean Paul Vialard

Producteur délégué: Marc-André Faucher

Producteur : Benjamin Hogue (La Soute)

 

Partenaires financiers

SODEC

Conseil des arts du Canada

Conseil des arts et lettres du Québec

ONF – Aide au cinéma indépendant

Réalisation

Hogue, Benjamin

Réalisateur

Actif dans le milieu du cinéma documentaire depuis quinze ans, Benjamin Hogue s’intéresse particulièrement aux créateurs qui, chacun à leur manière, décloisonnent les formes d’art et jettent des ponts entre l’art et la société. On lui doit plusieurs coréalisations : Lemoyne (2005), sur la vie et l’œuvre du peintre et performeur Serge Lemoyne ainsi que Le chômeur de la mort (2009), un portrait du poète Claude Péloquin. Il a aussi produit le documentaire Godin (2011). BGL de fantaisie (2017), long métrage documentaire sur le trio en art contemporain BGL, est sa première réalisation solo. Benjamin Hogue est également directeur de l’Observatoire du documentaire.

 

Filmographie

 

BGL de fantasie (2017 / 83 min)
Le Chômeur de la mort (2009 / 68 min)
Lemoyne (2005 / 80 min)